Book Review: Alone

I won’t lie––a part of me was dreading Scott Sigler‘s latest novel, Alone the last book in the Generations Trilogy. Not because I thought the book would be bad––faaaaar from it. Sigler is one of my favourite authors of all time, and the first person I recommend when someone asks when they’re looking for a good horror or sci-fi book. Nope, I was dreading this because he’s notorious for massive body counts in his books (seriously, the opening of the book shows the freaking body count). But that in itself isn’t a bad thing. Why? Because it means that I immensely care about what happens to these characters, it means that I’m on the edge of my seat during the considerable, pulse-pounding action, it means the story is full of unpredictable twists, and it means that I’m so invested that I will almost end up walking into a wall because I can’t tear my eyes away from the pages. Not speaking from experience or anything… *glances around*. As with all of his work, this is another Sigler masterpiece that should not be missed for anyone who loves sci-fi. Yes, this is a Young Adult novel. Does that matter? NO. If I didn’t subconsciously know the “target market,” I would have assumed this was an adult novel with young main characters. It’s thrilling, brutal, intense, emotional, and a vivid action-filled journey with aliens, monsters, and a hero who I love with all my heart. You need this on your shelves yesterday. While I’m going to try and avoid spoilers, this is the third book in the series, so be on the look for a minor spoiler warning below.

In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, Scott Sigler’s unforgettable heroine, Em Savage, must come to grips once and for all with the perilous mysteries of her own existence.

“We thought this place was our destiny—not our doom.”
 
Pawns in a millennia-old struggle, the young people known only as the Birthday Children were genetically engineered to survive on the planet Omeyocan—but they were never meant to live there. They were made to be “overwritten,” their minds wiped and replaced by the consciousness of the monsters who created them.

“Em” changed all of that. She unified her people and led a revolt against their creators. Em and her friends escaped an ancient ghost ship and fled to Omeyocan. They thought they would find an uninhabited paradise. Instead, they found the ruins of a massive city long since swallowed by the jungle. And they weren’t alone. The Birthday Children fought for survival against the elements, jungle wildlife, the “Grownups” who created them . . . and, as evil corrupted their numbers, even against themselves.

With these opponents finally defeated, Em and her people realized that more threats were coming, traveling from across the universe to lay claim to their planet. The Birthday Children have prepared as best they can against this alien armada. Now, as the first ships reach orbit around Omeyocan, the final battle for the planet begins.

***

This is everything an epic finale should be. Thrills on every page, shocking turns, vulnerable and powerful characters, heartbreak, and battles that had me almost hyperventilating. The story was original and surprising, with beloved characters being forced to make wrenching choices and sacrifices and coming up with unconventional solutions. Mr. Sigler wasn’t joking around with this book. It was brutal, and I absolutely loved it. Right from the get-go we’re thrown into action and I was reminded why he’s one of my favourite authors when it comes to in-your-face, gritty action. I felt like I was there, every little detail drawing me into the scene and making my heart pound. There were at least three major action scenes that were making me go crazy, all leading to a finale that ripped me open.

I am going to miss these characters so much––there were reminders of those we lost and new characters I didn’t get to spend a lot of time with. While Bishop had a moment in the book that would make Rambo stand up and cheer (or scare him sh*tless), the star of the story was Em. I am going to miss her more than I can say. She was a terrific character in every way she needed to be, a true leader and warrior, but still a vulnerable girl who will do anything she can to survive. I’m heartsore with her story ending here, but I’ll never forget her.

Sigler mastered this finale, and I can’t recommend these books enough. There are lots of Young Adult books out there (and while I don’t want to go on a major rant, let me remind skeptical readers that YA books deserve the same chance as those catered to adults. I’m addicted to Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses series but would never give that to my hypothetical children, and Sigler’s amazing sci-fi trilogy is absolutely brutal in its action (also, anyone ever heard of a series called Harry Potter, specifically catered to children but read by adults everywhere?)), but I guarantee you’ve never read anything like this. Get it today!

Amy

Follow, Like, and Share!

Leave a Reply